Just ordered “On Writing”… Stephen King’s book on, well, writing.

Pretty excited to get this one in the mail. After seeing this list of all of Stephen King’s books, ranked in order of quality (or awesomeness, if you are my bro-in-law), I just had to place an order.

I like books on writing, especially by highly successful writers. I enjoy reading their perspective of how they harness their creativity, how they push through the dog days of writer’s block, and why they love writing.

The world is filled with writers who just write  to get published and make bazillians of dollars-but there are some out there who are true artists, continually refining their craft– and no matter what their profession, a true artist is inspiring to watch.

I remember when my friends took me to Ruth’s Chris to celebrate an achievement. Our waiter was flat-out amazing. Hands down, the best waiter I’ve ever seen, and to date, the only waiter who mesmerized me. I was captivated, holding onto every word as if it was Bryan Cranston delivering his “intervention” monologue (another artist) . This waiter was an artist who loved his job and every item on the menu… and his descriptions were mouthwatering. I was inspired.  Another inspiring artist you should be familiar with is a film-only photographer,  Jonathan Canlas. His photography inspires me. Follow his blog. Today. If you can, fly him out to wherever you are for a photo shoot. You won’t be disappointed.

I consider Stephen King an artist–though I haven’t enjoyed (or read) all of his books.. but he seems to get better with time, and I can respect that. I’m excited to read this book to see how he has refined his craft, and how he has developed as a writer.

What artists inspire you?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I have yet to finish a King book, with the exception of On Writing. I just can’t get into them. But On Writing is another story. Well worth the read, especially for the aspiring writer.

    Reply
    • Craig

       /  April 26, 2012

      Well, I trust your endorsement, so I’m now even more excited to read it. I received the Amazon receipt that said it was shipped yesterday, and the estimated arrival date is May 17th… so… Either they are shipping it via steam barge or pony express. Either way, I look forward to its arrival!

      Reply
  2. There has to be some kind of irony about your last post being on the book “On Writing” and then no more posts for three months.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

