[Personal] Dang I sure miss my wife and kid…

Tonight I am bored out of my mind. The house is super quiet, and the clock seems to be ticking a bit slower than usual.  I’m trying to decide whether to get my butt off the couch and go see a movie alone, or if I should just chill here and see what’s available on my apple TV. I’ve already done a few loads of laundry and tried to straighten up a few things, and now I’m watching the clock with about 4 hours to go before I usually fall asleep.

Bottom line, I miss my wife and son.

See, they went out of town a couple days ago so my wife could hang out with her aunt and one of her best friends, and it’s crazy how much I miss them right away. Sometimes in married life you think, “man, it’d be nice to have a little time alone,” then about 15 minutes into the actual alone time, I’m like, “How long until my wife and kid get back? And why is this house so deathly quiet? And what the crap was that noise?”

So forgive my sappy personal post, as I say a few things I love about my wife…

I really am married to the most wonderful woman. She’s got these beautiful brown eyes that I’ve been in love with since the minute I saw her. She has an incredible smile bordered by perfect lips, and a super contagious laugh. She has the most amazing sense of humor, and makes me laugh all the time. She also laughs at me a lot too, which makes me feel like a million bucks. Sheesh… I really wish she was sitting beside me on the couch right now, and we could be watching an episode of New Girl or something (go ahead, take my man card…that is a funny show).

She’s a wonderful mom with a natural gift for motherhood, and has this incredible knack to sooth our son when he’s upset or doesn’t want to sleep.  She is an awesome mom though. She is really patient and loving with our son, but not a helicopter mom.

She is also an excellent business owner. I’m so proud of what she has done with our business. She also has been able to structure it in such a way so that it doesn’t take away from valuable home life, by waking up every day at the break of dawn to go get her work done early. Then she is back before I need to leave for my job, so our son doesn’t have to be raised by day care. I think that is amazing… partly because I likely could not wake up that early every day, but also because I love how she has established such a great home/work life–with the primary focus on our family.

I love how she always tries to stay up with me when I can’t sleep, so we can hang out just a little bit longer, even though she always wakes up early. I wish I was better at getting up earlier so we could hang out early on weekend mornings–but I feel like that is battling against the very forces of nature, so I don’t see that happening any time soon.

I love how supportive she is. I work in commission only sales, and she learns all the industry terms, and is always really encouraging, understanding full well how draining it can be sometimes. It always seems like we end up talking about my day way more than hers because she is such a great listener.

I have a lot of different ideas, for writing, for business, for us… and I also have this knee-jerk need to vocalize them right away, and I tend to get overly excited about ALL of them… but  she does an amazing job of hearing me out, helping me sort through the good ideas from the time-waster ones.  She is really insightful about pretty much everything, and I really value her opinion.

I love how spiritual she is, how when she prays, it seems like she is right there talking to God (even though sometimes I feel like in our couple’s prayer, she talks with Him forever… haha) I don’t always read my scriptures or pray as often as I should, but she never nags me about my occasional bouts of spiritual apathy. Giving me my space and respect is one of the many ways she makes me want to be a better man.

Sometimes she is really energetic and does funny dances, or makes up funny songs, or does funny impersonations, and they are hilarious.  I think about them often and they always make me laugh.

I remember when we were engaged, and I was talking with a good friend of mine about what marriage is like.  He said something to the effect of, when you strip away the “romantic comedy” flashiness of marriage, it’s really all about having and continuing to build a quality companionship with your wife. My wife and I have been married for 5 years, and we continue to build a deeper and better companionship.

I couldn’t ask for a better wife and mother to my son. She is beautiful, smart, talented, ambitious, insightful, funny, spiritual, and my very best friend.

I miss you babe…

Craig

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

